Sunday, June 9 at 6 PM

59 Rue de Rivoli, 75001 PARIS




Michael Nyman (1944)

Four Pieces from ‘The Piano’ (2012)

1. The Embrace

2. Big My Secret

3. All Imperfect Things

4. The Heart Asks Pleasure First

Ryuichi Sakamoto (1952)

Trio / 1996

1. Rain

2. Bibo No Aozora

3. The Last Emperor

4. 1919

5. Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence

6. M.A.Y. In The Backyard

7. The Sheltering Sky

8. Before Long

9. Bring them home

Nouvelle Philharmonie piano trio

Pavel Guerchovitch (violin)

Dima Tsypkin (cello)

Sergey Smirnov (piano)



Entrée libre - prix au chapeau / Free entrance - pay what you want

Live retransmis en direct sur la page du 59 Rivoli / Live broadcast on 59 Rivoli FB page

Ⓜ 1, 4, 7, 11, 14 - RER A, B, D : Châtelet 







Michael Nyman (1944) is an English composer of minimalist music, pianist, librettist and musicologist, known for numerous film scores (many written during his lengthy collaboration with the filmmaker Peter Greenaway), and his multi-platinum soundtrack album to Jane Campion's The Piano. He has written a number of operas, including The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat; Letters, Riddles, and Writs; Noises, Sounds & Sweet Airs; Facing Goya; Man and Boy: Dada; Love Counts; and Sparkie: Cage and Beyond. He has written six concerti, five string quartets, and many other chamber works, many for his Michael Nyman Band. He is also a performing pianist.

"The Embrace", "Big My Secret", "All Imperfect Things" and "The Heart Asks Pleasure First" appears on The Piano - a 1993 New Zealand drama film about a mute piano player and her daughter, set during the mid-19th century in a rainy, muddy frontier backwater town on the west coast of New Zealand. It revolves around the musician's passion for playing the piano and her efforts to regain her piano after it is sold. The Piano was written and directed by Jane Campion. The soundtrack for The Piano wins an Ivor Novello Award, Golden Globe, BAFTA and American Film Institute award and goes on to sell over three million copies. In 2012, Nyman arranged these compositions for the piano trio and published as a separate book.


Ryuichi Sakamoto (1952)  is a Japanese composer, singer, songwriter, record producer, activist, and actor who has pursued a diverse range of styles as a solo artist and as a member of Yellow Magic Orchestra (YMO). With his bandmates Haruomi Hosono and Yukihiro Takahashi, Sakamoto influenced and pioneered a number of electronic music genres.

Sakamoto began his career while at university in the 1970s as a session musician, producer, and arranger. His first major success came in 1978 as co-founder of YMO. He concurrently pursued a solo career, releasing the experimental electronic fusion album Thousand Knives in 1978. Two years later, he released the album B-2 Unit. It included the track "Riot in Lagos", which was significant in the development of electro and hip hop music. He went on to produce more solo records, and collaborate with many international artists, David Sylvian, Carsten Nicolai, Youssou N'Dour, and Fennesz among them. Sakamoto composed music for the opening ceremony of the 1992 Barcelona Olympics, and his composition "Energy Flow" (1999) was the first instrumental number-one single in Japan's Oricon charts history.

As a film-score composer, Sakamoto has won an Oscar, a BAFTA, a Grammy, and 2 Golden Globe Awards. Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence (1983) marked his debut as both an actor and a film-score composer; its main theme was adapted into the single "Forbidden Colours" which became an international hit. His most successful work as a film composer was The Last Emperor (1987), after which he continued earning accolades composing for films such as The Sheltering Sky (1990), Little Buddha (1993), and The Revenant (2015). On occasion, Sakamoto has also worked as a composer and a scenario writer on anime and video games. In 2009, he was awarded the Ordre des Arts et des Lettres from the Ministry of Culture of France for his contributions to music.


1996 is a 1996 album by Japanese composer and pianist Ryuichi Sakamoto. It contains a selection of Sakamoto's most popular compositions plus two new compositions, all arranged for a standard piano trio. The arrangement of "Bibo no Aozora" that appears on this album has appeared in several film and television projects; one notable example is the film Babel.

"Rain" and "The Last Emperor" appears on The Last Emperor -  soundtrack album for the movie by Bernardo Bertolucci of the same name. The album won the Best Original Score award at the 1987 Academy Awards.

"Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence" appears on "Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence" also known in many European editions as Furyo - a 1983 British-Japanese war film. It was directed by Nagisa Oshima and stars David Bowie, Tom Conti, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Takeshi Kitano, and Jack Thompson. Sakamoto won the 1983 BAFTA Award for Best Film Music for the film's soundtrack.

"The Sheltering Sky" is the original soundtrack to the 1990 film The Sheltering Sky (based on a novel by Paul Bowles) starring Debra Winger and John Malkovich.

The soundtrack won the Golden Globe Award for Best Original Score and the LAFCA Award for Best Music.